I Believe…

As a rule we disbelieve all the facts and theories for which we have no use! 
Gustave Flaubert!

This is a hard  hitting and sadly little acknowledged fact of life. Whilst we all talk of our beliefs and freedoms and our levels of tolerance and understanding…we forget that freedoms are only safe when they are shared! As another wise man, Blaise Pascal said…Men do not do evil so completely and cheerfully as when they do it for religious reasons. This has sadly become a sad and vile aspect of our times, one that is talked about endlessly without any real and meaningful effort being put into addressing and solving this issue…which leads to the utterly devastating thought that “the powers that be” deliberately and insiduously turn a blind eye to this and let acts and incidents of this nature escalate to the levels of pure and unadulterated negation of all that is fine and moral and upright and worthy of being the Good Lord’s viceroy on earth…I believe we are continuously selling ourselves short on this exalted position, because I believe human beings have a unique place and responsibility among God’s creations…

I believe that any one person’s death due to violence and aggression is a heartrending and heartbreaking occurrence…this should not be given meaning and importance based on nationality…creed…color…gender…or geography!
I believe every violent death tears at the very fabric of the human rights of ‘civil society’! 
I believe it is easy to spout and sow seeds of discord and venom!
I believe that defending certain freedoms in a discriminatory manner is unworthy and unwise “double speak”!
I believe it is each and everyone of our’ responsibility to defuse this and start dialogues in our own spaces!
I believe we have to be careful not to buy into all that is being thrown at us! 
I believe Life prepares us through trials and tribulations…ups and downs…so as to be able to meet the rest of Life head on!
I believe Life is about growing to your own personal best in your own space…and taking responsibility for that space!
I believe Life is a privilege not a ride!
I believe that every action of mine will have an opposite reaction…and that what goes round comes around!
I believe that I cannot always control things around me…I can however control my reactions and subsequent actions of thought and deed !
I believe great Nations like people need to commit to the tenets of justice…truth…peace…human rights…freedom…on an even keel!
I believe that it is in the heart that all wars are fought and won!
I believe that the ultimate wisdom of God is greater than ours…and that we have to trust this and follow His edicts !
I believe positive and definitive personal change and growth must be the essence of Belief!
I believe that a people full of national honor and no sense of ownership of the Nation cannot make a difference!
I believe we all have the potential to make a difference!
I believe we are not trying seriously…mere lip service does not count!
I believe we have to stop waiting for a miracle whilst refusing to help create one!
I believe that our greatness lies not so much in being able to remake the world…as being able to make ourselves as a people and as Nations!
I believe universal truths are embedded in all our souls like a common DNA…
I believe the time has come to tap into them!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dearrosie
    Sep 22, 2012 @ 22:11:52

    What an incredibly thoughtful and thought-provoking list Shama. (Or do I say Shamaji?). You are a wise woman.

    Reply

    • shamasheikh
      Sep 30, 2012 @ 19:13:09

      Many thanks and God bless Rosie…you are too kind and I am flattered!
      I am so touched at what Arindam has started…either is good! I feel so happy and truly blessed to have such wonderful and caring blogging friends…

      Reply

  2. Whether Weather
    Sep 26, 2012 @ 10:06:31

    Freedoms are indeed safe only when shared. I haven’t heard freedom interpreted this way before, which is surprising, because it makes such beautiful sense. Very refreshing post, Shama.

    Reply

    • shamasheikh
      Sep 30, 2012 @ 19:17:39

      Many thanks Priya…how absolutely lovely to see you here again…I was missing you!
      I pray all is well with you and you are enjoying this new and blessed stage of life…will be in touch…
      Love and prayers…

      Reply

  3. bronxboy55
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 15:59:27

    “…defending certain freedoms in a discriminatory manner.” It’s a dead-end for sure, Shama. This is a beautiful post, filled with thoughtfulness and insight.

    Reply

    • shamasheikh
      Oct 12, 2012 @ 21:13:04

      Many thanks Charles…

      You are so right…defending certain freedoms in discriminatory manners and double speak have become sad and unfortunate ‘dead end’ phenomenas of our time…they do not however stop congenital optimists like me from hoping for ‘more’…even from those who give us these forked and two-edged statements and stands….

      Reply

  4. Arindam
    Oct 10, 2012 @ 05:29:48

    These are some really thoughtful words from you Shamaji. The way you interpreted the word freedom is unique and beautiful in its own way.
    The line which you wrote, “I believe that every action of mine will have an opposite reaction…and that what goes round comes around!” is so meaningful. I too believe the same. I believe, I should must treat others the way I want them to treat me. 🙂

    Reply

    • shamasheikh
      Oct 12, 2012 @ 21:32:19

      Thank you so much Arindam…
      Freedoms are often taken for granted…till such times as when they are denied us…often in myriad of ways that are not overtly apparent…hence the importance of them being shared…
      Yes you are so right Arindam…it is imperative to do unto others as we ourselves want to be treated…
      God bless…

      Reply

  5. souldipper
    Nov 15, 2012 @ 22:30:44

    Shamaji…I’m going to follow Rosie and Arindam’s example since it seems to be drawn from the kind of respect I feel for you, too. Is this acceptable?

    Your writing touches every part of me. How can we make certain your words become the mantra of the United Nations?

    No matter the race, culture or creed, we all can believe in treating others the way we want to be treated. These beliefs would help us achieve it.

    Thank you, Shamaji.

    Reply

    • souldipper
      Nov 15, 2012 @ 22:32:07

      P.S. My “Reader” seems unpredictable. I am sorry to have not visited sooner.

      Reply

    • shamasheikh
      Nov 17, 2012 @ 22:51:54

      As always Amy, I am touched and humbled by your understanding and praise…many thanks!

      You are so right…sharing common values for humanity has to be the way forward and is the need of the hour now when we are finding ourselves at such a political impasse on the world map today…

      I am honored to be so addressed by you…Arindam and Rosie…you are all too kind! God bless…

      Reply

  6. Mal
    Nov 19, 2012 @ 09:57:40

    “I believe we have to be careful not to buy into all that is being thrown at us!” …and may we be blessed with the wisdom to be aware of them!
    Beautiful post, dear Shama, certainly food for thought…may we see peaceful and happier times ahead.. Inshallah.

    Reply

  7. shamasheikh
    Nov 22, 2012 @ 10:18:30

    Ameen….
    Many thanks Maleeha…we are going through very troubled times…the prayer is that Allah in His infinite grace and generosity grants us all the
    wisdom and strentgth to do the right thing and strive to be the best we can..Inshallah…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

