A Son’s Milestone Birthday…

Some favorite lines of mine from poems about sons are from A Soldiers Prayer for his Son by Gen Douglas MacArthur and Abraham Lincoln’s My Son…both these poems are poignantly definitive and have always resonated with Prayers for Children as also the prayer that I have been able to truly help my Children walk through life with the inner strength and integrity to do the right thing…knowing that nobody is going to know you did it or not! These cherished lines are from a treasured poem plaque my eldest once gave me
…sometimes when I think of Mom
I think of what she Took
She took a child and taught it how
To live this life with pride
She took the hands that longed to hold…
Her child and not let go
Used them to push her child along
The way to thrive and grow….

My two elder Children are celebrating what we now call…’milestone’ birthdays this year…my eldest son celebrates his today…and even though for me all their days are such…my thoughts go back to search…recall…review…tear over…reminiscence…with awe and a deeply felt sense of pure happiness at the wonder that has been my life as my children’s mother! This journey has been one of such incredibly powerful experiences in all aspects of my being…that it is by far my life’s greatest joy and blessing and gives me a sense of ‘non pareil’ accomplishment…and although I do believe that ‘having a child is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body’…often in far away lands…my children are all truly the joyous mainstays of my life…

Seeing this beloved son of mine live his life in a matrix of the search for excellence in all he does has been a learning experience for me too…his focus…commitment…hard work…humility…strength…choices…faith….accompanied by a compassionate and loving heart…has made mine sing so very  often…seeing some of his goals coming to fruition, specially now at such an opportune time in his life, makes my heart swell with pride and thankfulness…above all, his gentle concern…care…and love for all of us has truly been the icing on the cake…Khalil Gibran said….your living is determined not so much by what life brings to you, as by the attitude you bring to life…Not so much by what happens to you, as by the way your mind looks at what happens to you…I feel so very thankful to the Good Lord that you have understood this Usman…and pray you will always work to being the best that the Good Lord meant for you to be…believeing that the ultimate Wisdom of God is greater than ours and that we have to trust Him to guide and help us…Amen!

Happy Birthday Son…I feel so very blessed to have a son like you and in the language of your generation…you rock my world…

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Yasmine
    Jul 07, 2012 @ 04:23:22

    What a wonderful piece, wishing usman all the best in life.

    Reply

    • shamasheikh
      Jul 08, 2012 @ 07:28:29

      How wonderful to see you here Yasmine…many thanks and God bless…
      Usman had a great day alhamdullillah…his friends made much of this day for him and that was comforting since he was not home…
      Look forward to seeing you more often on these pages… 🙂

      Reply

  2. Mal
    Jul 07, 2012 @ 04:57:34

    ‘Having a child is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body’… Oh, I have always loved this quote! Dear Shama, you have written a most beautiful, apt piece for your child…now an adult…whom you have wisely brought up, and I can feel and relate with your thoughts as I too have a son…and my prayers are similar…

    God bless you, Shama, and may you enjoy many, many happy, healthy years with your loving children.. Ameen.. 🙂

    Reply

    • shamasheikh
      Jul 08, 2012 @ 07:24:34

      Thank you so very much Maleeha…yes, this quote always goes staight to the heart!
      The joy of this blessing is something my being is always so very thankful for….
      These prayers are for you and your son as much as mine and all us mothers…May Allah in His infinite grace and generosity always keep all our children in the palm of His hand….amen!

      God bless you…

      Reply

  3. Nasima Aziz
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 16:12:21

    Shama, Beautifully written! I too am proud of Usman – a mother’s feelings are truly ‘universal’. Nasima

    Reply

    • shamasheikh
      Jul 10, 2012 @ 17:53:06

      Many thanks and God bless Nasima… 

      You are absolutely correct, the ‘mother gene’ and it’s feelings are truly universal…and I love how you ‘own’ that feeling of motherly pride for Usman… 🙂
      What a lovely thing to say….Usman thanks you for it too…

      Reply

  4. emmefemme
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 07:25:27

    MashAllah, what a lovely post!!!!

    Reply

  5. Arindam
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 20:40:13

    I am going to repeat the same. “Beautifully written”. It was straight from a mother’s heart. May got keep on blessing You and your wonderful family. 🙂

    Reply

  6. shamasheikh
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 16:23:23

    Thank you so much Arindam…your kind words are wonderful to hear for a mother…
    God bless you Beta…

    Reply

  7. bronxboy55
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 13:00:48

    This post makes me wish I could meet you and your children. But in a way, I guess I have. Thank you.

    Reply

    • shamasheikh
      Jul 23, 2012 @ 00:41:07

      What an absolutely kind and heartwarming thing to say Charles…many thanks and God bless you…

      You are so right…it does seem that we know each other…and we do on this amazing medium…I do however look forward to meeting you one day when I am in your part of the world or then, I have the honor of welcoming you to our side…one day, Inshallah!

      Reply

  8. souldipper
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 18:00:36

    A belated happy birthday to a man who has been given a foundation that would set the world on solid Love if one and all could experience such a mother.

    Shama, I’ve been having to dip into blogging with less fervor over the past while. Balance needed attention. I’m so glad you are finding a good balance as well.

    Our visits can be sweeter and deeper in a calmer pace.

    Reply

  9. dreamingthruthetwilight
    Jul 31, 2012 @ 05:01:03

    Nothing more joyful than finding your children in a place that they themselves are happy with and which does not belie your own hopes as a mother to see them as competent, sincere, compassionate human beings. You are a happy mom. Your words declare it.:-)

    Reply

    • shamasheikh
      Jul 31, 2012 @ 07:06:30

      So very true Nadira…these are truly blessings ‘par excellence’…and I feel very thankful to the Good Lord for helping me in this very special space…

      Thank you for coming by…:)

      Reply

  10. shamasheikh
    Jul 31, 2012 @ 06:30:07

    Thank you Amy…and thank you so very much for always making me feel ten feet tall and so very happy in my own space…God bless you…

    Yes…balance does seem to make all of this even more of a pleasure…the enjoyment is heightened manifold in this medium at a calmer and slower pace…Ramadan has a lot to do with it too…a blessed month of introspection towards the core…will post about it…soon….:)

    Reply

  11. An Idealist Thinker
    Aug 21, 2012 @ 14:54:00

    ‘You rock my world’ 🙂
    You are a great mom, speaking your kid’s language. If I may ask, at what age does one reach a milestone?

    Reply

    • shamasheikh
      Aug 29, 2012 @ 21:38:37

      Thank you AIT…:)

      The ‘milestone’ birthday is a fairly recent ‘turn of phrase’ I think…as a mother, my children’s birthdays are all ‘milestones’ as far as I am concerned…in fact each  birthday is truly a ‘gift from God’ and as such…a milestone…but I fear this is not what most people think of when this term is used…there is a much more generic meaning and connotation here…and I am also guilty of paying ‘lip service’ to it…:)

      My apologies for this late reply…God bless…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

