Children……..

First I want to let you all know…that I love you very much ! It has been one of my life’s greatest privileges to be your mother…to raise you…to watch you grow…to see your development…and then, to be so very proud of the fine human beings that the Good Lord has helped you turn out to be…

This letter written by Gen. Douglas MacArthur as a prayer for his son is quite perfect in it’s prayers for children…his addresses a prayer for his son…it is however one for all our sons and daughters….

Build me  a son, O Lord, who will be strong enough to know when he is weak….brave enough to face himself when he is afraid….one who will be will proud and unbending in honest defeat…humble and gentle in Victory!

Build me  a son whose wishes will not take the place of deeds….a son who will Know THEE…and know that to know himself is the foundation stone of knowledge!

Lead him I pray, not in the path of ease and comfort alone…but under the stress and spur of difficulties and challenges. Let him learn to stand up in the storm…let him learn compassion for those who fail!

Build me a son whose heart will be clear…whose goal will be high….a son who will master himself before seeking to master other men….one who will reach into the future…yet never forget the past.

And after all these things are his…add I Pray, enough sense of humor so that he may always be serious…yet never take himself too seriously .

Give him Humility..the simplicity of true Greatness..the open mind of Wisdom….the meekness of True Strenght!

Then I will dare to say…I have not lived in Vain !

I feel so very proud of All that my children have grown into and  achieved in their young lives…in every aspect of the word…it gladdens my heart and soul to know that there is an understanding of irrefutable and unchangeable laws of nature….He who seeks….will find! He who knocks…to him it will be opened ! Each day is  a gift from God…make it count…

It is my older son’s birthday today, and so this is primarily dedicated to him today…

My Prayer for him is that…he will always be able to walk through Life’s many hurdles and temptations…have the inner strenght to make the right decisions…walk on unscarred…and continue to prosper and fully share his God Given Talents and strenghts with all who seek and need his help and love…Amen !

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Usman Sheikh
    Aug 05, 2010 @ 08:51:45

    Thank you for the love and prayers.

    Thank you for making my life so comfortable and giving me confidence and ability to explore and create the type of life that I want.

    Not a day goes by that I don’t thank God for giving me a mother like you.

    Love you always.

    Usman

    Reply

Leave a Reply

